This site has also been known as Lofthouse, and Lingberry Alum Works. The Loftus Works were one of the most successful in the area and had a long life from 1655 to 1863.
The works were founded by local gentleman was Zacharie Stewart. In 1764 the land and works were bought by Sir Lawrence Dundas.
There are thought to have been 3 alum houses associated with these works. The remains of the most recent can be seen on the beach at Hummersea (see photo above) and is now part of the Hummersea Nature Reserve.
Today the quarry is owned by the National Trust and open to visit. There are wonderful views of the whole quarry from the Cleveland Way. Why not try one of our free trail guides and explore these fantastic remains.
Click on the links below to download one of our free guides.
Please note that this location map is for information purposes only and does not indicate that the site has public access. Always get landowner permission before entering any site.