Construction of the works started in 1727 and the first alum was produced in 1729. The works ran until 1736, opened again in 1741-1755 and then 1767-1871. The whole site was owned by the Mulgrave Estate.
A landslip in December 1829 destroyed the first Staithes and alum house, located near the shore in Runswick Bay. A replacement alum house was then built on a shelf cut into the rock, higher up the cliffs.
Today the Cleveland Way passes above the quarry, with stunning views inside. The floors of several steeping pits were found when the site was excavated in 2002.
Please note that this location map is for information purposes only and does not indicate that the site has public access. Always get landowner permission before entering any site.